Smokey Sweet Carrot Hummus

Roasted Carrot Hummus

Hummus is one of my go-to dishes when attending or holding a get-together. It’s incredibly easy, and yet people are endlessly amazed and impressed by it. People seem to think it is difficult to make, and until I tried making it, I did too! Now, I think I make hummus on nearly a weekly basis, using it as a healthy snack, sandwich spread or salad topping. I make it a little different each time, so I never get bored.

Today, I was craving something lighter and sweeter than my usual spicy garlic variety. I remembered this carrot hummus from Fat Free Vegan, and decided to give carrots a try. I love dipping raw carrots in my hummus, so I figured roasted ones would be even better. And it was! The sweetness that the carrots gave just begged for a smokey counterpart, so I added some smoked paprika.

I roasted the carrots along with some other leftover vegetables, and I ate the veggies while I prepared the hummus. After the hummus was finished, I snacked on it with the remaining carrots. Best lunch ever!

Vegetables ready to be roastedRoasted Carrots

Smokey Sweet Carrot Hummus

  • 2 Medium carrots (about 1.5 cups chopped
  • 1 can garbanzo beans (chickpeas), drained and rinsed
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 Tbs toasted sesame oil
  • 1 Tbs tahini
  • 1 Tbs lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1 tsp salt
  • Water as needed, approx. 6 Tbs

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Chop the carrots into 2 inch chunks. Spread evenly in non-stick pan, and lightly coat with oil.  Roast for 50 minutes, or until tender. After 25 minutes, coat peeled garlic cloves in oil, wrap in tinfoil (make a little package) and place with carrots. Optionally, leave raw for a spicier hummus.

Combine garbanzo beans and the rest of the ingredients in a blender or food processor. Blend until smooth, adding water as needed. After carrots and garlic have finished roasting and cooled slightly, add to hummus and blend well.


Nutritional Info: per 2 Tbs: 40 cals, 1.5g fat

Roasted Carrot Hummus

10 thoughts on “Smokey Sweet Carrot Hummus

  1. This looks good but…. I have to exchange the sesame oil for frying the onions with water or wine. I also have to find an alternative for the tahini, since it is full of oil. Looks vegan, but not fat free.

  2. Thanks!
    Looks like a great recipe.

    I wish there was an easy way to print it. Like a ‘Print’ button that would print the recipe without all the photos & extra stuff.

    Just a thought. I hope it’s helpful.

    Best regards,
    -Mark

  3. Whoa! This was the best hummus I’ve made in a long while. I’ll admit to just riffing on the basic recipe you provided, but roasted carrots and smoked paprika combined with hummussy classic ingredients was a full win. I had added some leftover onion and broccoli to the roasting pan, and I think that little bit of roasted broccoli pushed me over the edge. So good! I didn’t use any sesame oil, because I didn’t have it on hand, but I can only imagine it would be great.

    Thanks for such an amazing hummus idea!

    • Thanks so much! The idea of adding other roasted veggies is GENIUS! I make a combo of roasted sweet potatoes, broccoli and carrots at least once a week, and now I might have to add that to this hummus. Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

