Dog Bone Toy

Crocheted Bone

I’m reviving some old patterns that got swallowed by the internet abyss when I closed my old blog. A few years ago, I made this wee crocheted doggie bone for my co-worker’s dog, Romeo. Here is the “recipe” since it is really just a teensy tiny modification of another pattern.

Crocheted Dog Bone
worsted weight yarn
F or G hook depending on yarn weight

  1. Crochet Pepika’s 3D Heart, but stop at rnd 9
  2. Continue crocheting in a spiral for about 10 rows
  3. Crochet another 3D heart, also stopping at rnd 9
  4. Stuff both pieces and sew together!

That’s it! Alternatively, you can crochet both halves for 5 rows after rnd 9, so the seam is in the middle. Your choice.

Romeo is a teeny timy dog, so he couldn’t chew through this thing. However, I would supervise larger dogs to ensure they can’t get to the polyfil inside.

Thanks to much to Pepika for posting the original heart pattern.

Here’s some in action pictures:

Romeo and his boneWhat, I don't want this!

5 thoughts on “Dog Bone Toy

  1. Great pattern…my girls wanted me to make one for our pup….it worked up easy and it’s really cute. 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing your pattern. (found it on Ravelry) 🙂

  2. Pingback: Crocheted Dog Bone Toys | My Recycled Bags.com

Leave a Reply

