Green Julius

Green Julius

Growing up, I used to love the delicious, frothy drink that is the Orange Julius. I think I would get one pretty much every time I stepped foot in my local mall. However, at 230 calories and 59 grams of processed sugar for just the small, I’ve since given up on my old mall-erific treat.

Recently I was hankering for that sweet orange-y drink from my childhood, but without all the calories and dairy. I whipped up a healthy vegan version – with a twist. Adding some kale gives this a nutritious boost and a fun green shade. You can’t taste the kale at all, I promise!

Green Julius

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 3 clementines or 1 orange
    I like the clementines because they have less pulp
  • 1 medium kale leaf OR
    1/4 cup greens such as spinach
  • 1/4 frozen banana
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla*
  • 1/2 tsp lemon juice (optional but gives it a citrus-y boost)
  • 4-6 ice cubes (about 3/4 cup)

Place all ingredients in a high speed blender in order given and blend until frothy. If using a Blendtec, use the ‘smoothie’ button. If you don’t have highs peed blender, chop the kale or greens into small pieces before adding to blender.

Serves 2 large glasses or 4 small as pictured.


Nutritional Info: 1 large serving of 2- 96 calories, 12g sugar, 2.5g protein, 100% vit C, 50% dv vit A, 14% calcium (percentage of daily value)

 *when making cold or uncooked desserts, I prefer to use vanilla bean paste since it doesn’t have that booze-y taste that extract has. It delivers an incredibly rich vanilla taste, and is a great value too. I use mine in every sweet treat (including tea!) and after 2 years I still have half left.

One thought on “Green Julius

Leave a Reply

