Super Green Kiwi-Limeade

Super Green Kiwi-Limeade

Ok. I have a secret. It’s quite unsavory, and many will disagree heartily.

I don’t really like smoothies.

Yep. I don’t dig those sweet, cold, frothy, drinks that everyone is raving about. You’ll never find me at a Jamba Juice, and while I’ve tried to have green smoothies for breakfast, I can never stick with it. It’s not that I don’t like the flavor. I love all the ingredients that go into a smoothie, and the endless combinations you can make. It’s the texture. I just don’t like thick anything . My oatmeal has to be so milky it’s drinkable, my peanut butter MUST have a crunch to offset the texture, and don’t get me started on ice cream that’s on the “too creamy” side.

So when I discovered whole juices, I fell in love. You get all the flavor, nutrients and fiber like a green smoothie, but the drink-ability of a cold glass of juice. Today’s favorite is a tangy kiwi-limeade that reminds me of spring, relaxing on my front porch, watching life go by.

Super Green Kiwi-Limeade

Super Green Kiwi-Limeade

  • 2 ripe kiwis, peeled
  • 2 cups mild greens, such as spinach
  • 1 medium carrot, broken into pieces (for sweetness and to mellow the flavors)
  • 2 Tbs lime juice, or juice of 1 one lime
  • 2 cups cold water
  • 1 cup ice (about 6 cubes, for me)

Combine ingredients into high-speed blender in order given. Blend on high until well blended (Blendtec users press the “Whole Juice” button). If using a regular blender, chop greens and carrots into small pieces before blending.

Makes 3 large servings or 4 small.

Nutritional Info: 1 of 3 large servings: 42 cals, 1g protein, 6g sugar, 2g fiber, 75% vit A, 90% vit C

I actually prefer this recipe with one kiwi, since I like things tart, but my fiancé preferred the sweeter, 2 kiwi version by far. Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Super Green Kiwi-Limeade

  1. I’m getting ready to write an article on this very topic. I can’t get behind the green smoothie (well, I have found some recipes that work). For me, it’s the muddy color. But I *did* just get a juicer for my birthday so I can give your recipe a whirl! Your blog is gorgeous!

    • Thanks! I am also turned off by the sometimes muddy colors, so I tend to stick to similar colored fruits/veggies. The most delicious smoothie I ever made was using blueberries and chard, but that green-brown color meant I could only drink it with my eyes closed!

  2. Pingback: Green Smoothie vs a Meal: a comparison | Make It (Messy)

Leave a Reply

