Cranberry Pear Sorbet

Our view while we enjoyed a cold treat

I love the weather is San Francisco. It’s like the sky spins a giant Jeopardy wheel each morning to pick the weather (sometimes even two or three times a day!). Just last weekend it was miserably cold and foggy in my neighborhood. I didn’t even leave the apartment on one of the days, because it looked just too icky outside.

Then the sky spun that great big wheel again, and it must have landed on “summer”. Well, “summer” for San Francisco, that is… It has been bright, sunny and warm during the day, and the evenings have been those balmy nights that make you want to sit outside with friends, sipping iced lemonade and enjoying a cold treat while you watch the sunset.

I prepared this sorbet in the morning using ingredients I had on hand, so so my fiance and I could enjoy it later in the evening. It was the perfect refreshing treat we had been craving, so I thought I’d share it. According to the bottom of this page, this recipe is actually a sherbet, but it tastes much more like a sorbet to me, so I’m sticking with it:)

Cranberry Pear Sorbet

Cranberry Pear Sorbet

  • 2 ripe pears
  • 1 cup frozen or fresh cranberries
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk (or milk of choice)
  • 1 Tbs maple syrup or to taste
  • 2 Tbs spiced rum OR 1 extra Tbs maple syrup

Combine all ingredients in a blender. Blend on high until cranberries are pulverized and mixture is frothy. Pour into a container, preferably with a wide bottom, and freeze 2-4 hours until firm.

Once frozen, break into chunks and place in blender or food processor. Process on low until creamy. Serve immediately.

Makes 3 servings


Nutritional Info: 125 cals, 6g fiber, 16g sugar

One thought on “Cranberry Pear Sorbet

  1. Hello, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog site in Chrome, it looks fine but when opening in
    Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, fantastic blog!

Leave a Reply

