Sautéed Mizuna and Yams

I am not the most adventurous person when it comes to grocery shopping. My fiance and I have our grocery run down to an art; we take the same route and the same amount of time each trip. This means, however, that I often get the same produce over and over, since I know I’ll have the ingredients to use with it. In an attempt to get out of my veggie-rut, I bought a ‘mystery’ CSA box. I didn’t know what I was going to get until I picked it up. What I received was a HUGE amount of greens, most of which I’ve never heard of.

I am working through my greens, in order of least perishable to most. Today’s greens are Mizuna, which is a mild Japanese mustard green. After googling it, I learned that it can be used in place of spinach or other mild greens. I sauteed it with some onion and yams, and it was incredible. In my fiance’s own words, “this is restaurant quality!” The mild spiciness mellows even more once cooked, but it adds a depth of flavor that spinach often lacks. I’m going to be bold here and say it’s my new favorite green.

Sauteed Mizuna and Yams

We ate the meal so fast I only had time to take a picture of the wee bit of leftovers before it was gobbled up! This is definitely going in my “make again (and again) recipe box.

Sauteed Mizuna and Yams

Adapted from Martha Stewart online

  • 1 Tbs olive oil
  • 1 large yam or sweet potato, cubed
  • 1/2 white or yellow onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 tsp curry powder
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 lb Mizuna or other mild greens (about 5 cups tightly packed)
  • 1/2 T balsamic vinegar
  • 2 green onions, thinly sliced (optional)
  • Sea salt and black pepper to taste

Rinse greens well and let drain.

Heat olive oil in a pan over medium heat. Toss in yams and sliced onions. Cook until yams are slightly tender, about 10-12 minutes. Add in green onions, curry powder and water. Cook until water evaporates, about 5 minutes. Add mizuna or greens and stir well. You may have to spit the greens in two batches. Cook until greens have wilted, about 5-8 minutes. Stir in balsamic vinegar and season to taste with sea salt and black pepper.

Serves 2.


Nutritional Info: per serving: 160 cals, 7g fat, 4.5g protein, 5g fiber

4 thoughts on “Sautéed Mizuna and Yams

  1. Mizuna is wonderful. I’ve grown it in the garden for the last two years and it’s become my go-to green. This dish looks beautiful. Love the contrasting colors. I’m feeling anxious for spring now!

  2. Pingback: Bean and Tofu Quiche | Make It (Messy)

  3. Pingback: Cinnamon-Scented Coconut Milk | Make It (Messy)

Leave a Reply

