Garlic-Turmeric Roasted Veggies

Garlic-Tumeric Spice Mix

Often during weeknights, I am far too tired to put together a “proper” meal. When I get home, I either want food NOW, or I want it prepared magically while I melt into the couch. I usually employ shortcuts such as cooking rice on the weekend and freezing into 1 cup batches. This effortless meal is something I learned from my mom, and I probably make it at least once a week.The spice mix is my favorite part, especially since the three main ingredients are anti-inflammatory.

I learned the incredible benefits of turmeric by chance when I mistakenly tripled the spices in a meal (don’t ask). I was starving so I forced myself to eat the unpalatable food. About 20 minutes later my back and head felt better than it had in years! The only unfamiliar ingredient was turmeric, and after learning about its anti-inflammatory properties, I have been eating it daily to help ward off my migraines. Good for me and delicious too!

For this ‘shortcut’ meal, all you need is a bag of pre-cut, pre-washed veggies, 1 yam or potato, olive oil and the garlic-turmeric spice mix (recipe at the bottom):

The ingredients

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees. Cut the yam or potato into bite size pieces. The smaller the pieces the faster it will cook.

Cubed Yams

Grab a few handfuls of vegetables from the bag, cutting large pieces so they are all about the same size. Toss the veggies in 1-2 Tbs oil and spread evenly in a pan, about one layer deep.

Veggies in a pan

Shake the spice mix very generously over the veggies. I about 3/4 Tbs for a 7×11 pan worth of veggies. Shake veggies to coat.

Spice coated veggies

Bake for about 40 minutes, or until tips of broccoli are crispy. Enjoy!

Garlic-Tumeric Roasted Veggetables

A 7×11 pan makes about 2 small servings.

Garlic-Turmeric Spice Mix

This is measured in ‘parts’ but I usually use 1/2 tsp for each part, which makes a little over 3 Tbs

  • 4 parts turmeric
  • 6 parts garlic powder
  • 2 parts black pepper
  • 5 parts sea salt or seasoned salt
  • 2 parts nutritional yeast (optional)

Mix all together and store in an airtight container

2 thoughts on “Garlic-Turmeric Roasted Veggies

  1. I make this too. The only difference is that I roast the garlic in the batch of veges and I dont add yeast! You can roast almost any vege and it always tastes better than boiling, steaming, or baking. 😀

    Its only been recently that I’ve learned to love Tumeric, but Love it – I do! 😀

  2. Pingback: Menu for the Week of 11/11 - Molly's Soup Blog

Leave a Reply

