Warming Ginger-Turmeric Tea

Creamy Ginger Turmeric Tea

Ever since I discovered the amazing anti-inflammatory powers of turmeric (among other benefits), I have been trying to incorporate into my diet daily. I’ve been suffering from migraines and headaches for as long as I can remember, and I used to live on a steady stream of Advil and other prescription remedies. It wasn’t until I read this book that I started to listen to my body and realized that my diet was playing a huge role in triggering my pain. I now focus on not eating my trigger foods (such as dairy and meat) and adding in anti-inflammatory foods such as the amazing turmeric and ginger.

I came up with a mixture of turmeric, ginger and cinnamon, that I add to my tea each morning. On especially bad days where I wake up with a headache, I usually pack it in, using about 1 Tbs to 4oz of water. I call this my “morning sludge”, and I don’t think I could be productive without it, even if it isn’t the most appealing drink!

So when I found this recipe, I was excited to find a more delicious way to incorporate my favorite spices into a creamy, comforting drink.

Turmeric, cinnamon, black pepper

Creamy Ginger-Turmeric Tea
Based on the recipe by ezrandi and Mark’s Daily Apple

  • 1 cup almond milk, or milk of choice
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • Heaping 1/8 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 good grating of fresh black pepper
  • 1 tsp fresh ginger juice* or 1/2 tsp dried ginger
  • 1 tsp sweetener or choice or 2 drops Stevia**
  • 1/2 tsp coconut butter (optional, but add creaminess)

Heat the almond milk and coconut butter over the stove. Add the dry spices to your mug. Once the almond milk is hot, add about a tablespoon of milk to the spices, and mix until smooth. Add the remaining almond milk, ginger juice if using, and sweetener. Mix well and top with another fresh grating of black pepper or a pinch of cinnamon.

Sit back and relax as you sip this creamy, warming drink!

* Grate about 1.5 Tbs ginger, and squeeze the juice into your mug
** My favorite flavors are english toffee and vanilla creme. So good!

2 thoughts on “Warming Ginger-Turmeric Tea

  1. This is so delicious 😀 I was researching the benefits of turmeric, ginger and cinnamon combined because I have Rheumatoid Arthritis and this recipe popped up. I tried it right away. I am going to make a bulk mixture of the spices so that all I have to do is measure a teaspoon into my mug and warm the coconut milk and honey. I left out the black pepper because I’m slightly sensitive to it, but not quite allergic. Overall I will be making this often.

Leave a Reply

